Well I have been wanting to go to New York during Christmas time since I saw the movie Serendipity (plus Top Chef being in New York this year added to the excitement). So my  parents finally agreed to let us go. We arrived on December 22, 2008 after our trouble with flights. (That will be another blog post.)

The first dinner we had was with my mom, dad, brother, uncle, aunt, and two cousins. It was at BLT Steak. Oh by the way, I keep a foodie journal. Anyhoo! It was four dollar signs in my view. I am not old enough to have wine yet but my parents said the wine was “Very Nice”. For the bread there was a baguette with a duck liver spread. I didn’t really like the spread but my older cousin LOVED it.  To start out I had a Caeser Salad. The crouton very good and so was the salad. Nice clean flavors. For my main course I shared a veal chop with my mom. The presentation was very cool and it had a flavorful breadcrumb coating. You could order different sides so we got some to share family style. The one I chose was the mashed potatoes.  It was really good. I don’t think it was a mashed potato, it was more like pureed potatoes. They were as smooth a silk! Then we had creamed spinach. Previously, I hadn’t liked spinach but this was very good. Then we had some kind of Japanese mushrooms ( the name escapes me) and they were really cool. For desert I had pecan pie with butterscotch ice cream. The pecan pie was delicious and the ice cream worked well with it. Compliments of the chef, they gave us a mini chocolate-mocha flourless cake. I don’t know if chocolate and mocha is a classic combo but, it was great. Even though there is a recession going on, the restaurant was full (on a Monday night no less!). It was pretty loud and (as I said before) pretty pricey. Overall, I gave it a 9 out of 10.

The next day we went to Kefi. Kefi is a Greek restaurant owned by Donatella Arpaia. For those of you Top Chef fans, she was the judge for the episode when the contestants were making the cool hot dogs was the quickfire. My brother was flying to England that night so on the bus to the restaurant my mom was texting him. He was in the cab and it was going super slow. When we got to the restaraunt we met up with my uncle. When we got their I noticed that the gal at the front of desk needed to button up her shirt. So we got to the table and everyone  had a table setting but me.  For appetizers we shared two different ones. We shared the calamari and pitas with different chutneys. My favorite chutney was the red pepper one. For the entree, my mom and I shared the lamb chops. I don’t know if it will be there if any go there because it was a special. If it is I think you should get it. It was the most expensive thing so I shared it. None the less, they (as I put it in my foodie journal) AMAZING! When we were eating we got a text from my brothe that the flight was overbooked. Luckily he got onto the flight. Ironically, he got upgraded to first class! For desert I had chocolate and vanilla ice cream that had some shaved coconut in it. The desert was fine but it didn’t seem to fit in with the menu that well. Price wise I gave it two dollar signs. It was a little noisy. Overall, a 9 out of 10.

Next we went to the upper west side for dinner. First, we went to Jacques Torres. The first time I met him was when he still had the show on Food Network. I was about 5 or 6 (this in the store in Brooklyn) and I said ” You’re Jacques Torres!!!” . He replied “Wow”. Of course he didn’t remember me but it was still cool talking to him. He signed his name next to Eric Ripert’s name in my foodie journal. For all of you are thinking, “Am 11 year-old went to Le Bernardin!!” I didn’t. As much as I would like to go to Le Bernardin I met him at a book signing in San Francisco. For dinner we went to Centro Vinoteca. This is the restaurant where Leah from Top Chef is the sous chef at. For our piccolini we got two to share. I chose the BLT and my parents chose the fried zucchini with a Parmesan fritter. After tasting the BLT I said to my mom “Now I know why Leah won the Amouse’ Bouche quickfire!”. The BLT was delicious!!! The other one was pretty good to. For the entree I had the seared black cod with leeks, leek oil, and a potato puree. The presentation was beautiful and everything was great. While we were eating we met Leah. She was super nice and we got to ask her a few question. One thing she said was that after the contestant are eliminated (instead of going home) they got Jersey City.  She also signed my foodie journal. For desert we ordered the cookies with salty caramel. Compliments of the chef, we also got a rum cake and a few canoli. I couldn’t have the rum cake but the other two were DELICIOUS! I gave it two dollar signs. I wasn’t noisy. Overall, a 10 out of 10.

This is getting pretty long so I’ll end this part. So go ahead and go to the bathroom or get a snack. I hope enjoyed reading my first post!

